In most states, including South Carolina, it is mandatory to have adequate car insurance before putting your vehicle on the road. Despite this, the Insurance Information Institute reports that one in eight drivers do not have insurance coverage in the U.S. Many more have inadequate insurance coverage, meaning that they cannot cover the cost of serious injuries or property damage in the event of a car accident.
It is distressing to be involved in any collision, whether major or minor. It is even more distressing when the at-fault party is uninsured. You may be worried about the financial brunt of the collision falling solely to you.
If you find yourself in this situation, a Mount Pleasant uninsured car accident attorney can guide you through the legal process. The personal injury attorneys at George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers can help you recover compensation either through insurance negotiations or a lawsuit.
We Know How To Protect Your Rights And We Are Ready To Fight For You!Give Us A Call »
Your Legal Options Explained
The South Carolina Department of Insurance reports that motorists are required to carry liability and uninsured motorist coverage. To legally drive, you must carry uninsured motorist coverage that is equal to the minimum amounts of required liability coverage.
You should have:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 for all people injured in a single car accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Your lawyer can review the details of your policy and explain what options you have for recovering compensation.
However, even if you carry uninsured motorist coverage, your damages may exceed your policy limits. You may need to file a personal injury lawsuit to resolve your case. In this situation, you would sue the at-fault driver to recover compensation for your expenses.
An uninsured car accident lawyer in Mount Pleasant can handle the obligations that go along with guiding your lawsuit to completion. You can reach out to our team to get started.
Mount Pleasant Uninsured Car Accidents Lawyer Near Me(888) 612-7001
South Carolina Operates Under Comparative Fault Laws
S.C. Code of Laws § 15-38-15 reminds us that South Carolina is a comparative negligence state, meaning that if you are more than 50% at fault for a collision, you will be unable to recover damages.
Additionally, if you are found to be even partially at fault for an accident, your percentage of fault will be deducted from the amount of compensation you can recover.
For example, let’s say that the other driver in your accident was assigned 80% fault, and you were assigned 20% fault. Perhaps your damages totaled $10,000. In this case, you would be able to recover $8,000 in damages because you also contributed to the collision in some capacity.
If you are eligible to file a personal injury claim or lawsuit, then your Mount Pleasant uninsured car accident attorney will help you recover the cost of:
- Your current and anticipated medical bills
- Lost income, wages, tips, and employee benefits
- Reduced earning capacity
- Property damage costs
- Pain and suffering
- Impaired quality of life
You do not have to shoulder your legal burdens alone. An attorney from George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers can build a case that works to bring about a fair resolution to your car accident case.
Our Goal Is To Get You The Most Money – FAST!(888) 612-7001
What to Do If You Are in an Uninsured Car Accident
If you get into an accident and the other driver says that they are uninsured, your next steps will be crucial to the outcome of your case. You should consider taking the following steps after being injured in a car accident:
- Seek medical attention. You will want to begin documenting your injuries as soon as possible. Even if you do not feel as though you are hurt, a doctor can perform an examination to check for any hidden injuries, such as internal bleeding.
- Report the accident to your insurance company. You do not want to give the insurance company any reason to deny or undervalue your claim. Even if you were not at fault for the accident, you will want to begin a paper trail of the collision as soon as you can.
- File a police report. You are required to file a police report in the state of South Carolina if the collision resulted in any injuries or deaths, per S.C. Code of Laws § 56-5-1270. The police report will document information regarding fault, liability, and the accident’s cause. It may also record the contact information of the at-fault driver.
You may be unable to complete any of these tasks if you are severely injured. Yet, when you partner with our lawyers, they can complete these measures on your behalf. Additionally, they can also explain what other measures could work to benefit your South Carolina car accident case.
Our Firm Stands Apart From The Rest Because We Make Clients Our Priority.Give Us A Call »
Get Started With a Free Case Evaluation
If you have been involved in a car accident, we understand how confused and overwhelmed you may feel. As you recover from your injuries, we can help you navigate the claims process and work to recover compensation for your various accident-related damages.
Our team has been serving clients for over 40 years. During that time, we have resolved over 40,000 personal injury cases, many of which involved uninsured drivers. At George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers, we want to get started advocating for your legal rights while you focus on getting better. A Mount Pleasant uninsured car accident lawyer can begin building your case today.
Contact us by phone or by filling out our online form. You can start a case evaluation with a member of our team who can explain what financial recovery options you have. Your initial case evaluation is free, and there is no obligation.
Not Happy With the Results From Your Current Lawyer?(888) 612-7001