Not all traffic accidents are serious and they don't all require a call to police. But most accidents require that South Carolina drivers at least file an accident report.
When to call the police:
If you have been involved in a car accident in South Carolina and someone is injured or dead, you must immediately call the police.
Even minor injuries require a call to police. If you were hurt, even if you don't think it's anything serious, you will want to report it to authorities immediately and get medical attention. You will also want an officer at the scene to create an objective third-party report and assign fault to the responsible party. Once you've completed these initial steps, you should contact a car accident attorney as soon as possible and have them review the elements of the accident.
Filing a report:
If you were involved in a minor car accident with more than $1,000 in property damage but no one was injured, you can exchange insurance information with the other parties involved in the collision. But you will have to file an accident report within 15 days of the crash. There is a section in the report that requires your insurance provider to verify your coverage. In South Carolina, if you fail to report an accident that caused more than $1,000 in damage, the Division of Motor Vehicles will take it as evidence you are uninsured and will pursue legal penalties against you for driving without insurance.
To file a report, visit this website: http://www.dmv.org/sc-south-carolina/accident-guide/
When you don't have to contact authorities:
South Carolina law does not require an accident report if there were no injuries and less than $1,000 in property damage in an auto accident. However, if you are ever unsure about the extent of physical injuries and/or damage to vehicles, play it safe and contact authorities.