There generally is no set age in which car insurance rates and premiums will begin to go down. However, the Insurance Information Institute (III) found that insurance companies tend to charge higher premiums for drivers younger than 25 years old. Once teenage drivers get older, though, rates will likely begin to decrease with a safe driving record.
How much you pay for insurance can be affected by the underwriting process, which is when insurance policy writers evaluate certain factors to determine what you will have to pay. Your rating is affected by this process.
Additional Factors that Affect Car Insurance Rates
Insurance premiums can depend on a variety of factors, such as:
- The type of car you insure
- Your driving record
- How often you drive
- Where you live
- Where you park your vehicle
- Your age and gender
- Your car insurance coverage type
- Limits and deductibles
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in South Carolina and Georgia
Every state has their own minimum insurance requirements for drivers to obtain to legally drive in their state. According to the South Carolina Department of Insurance, the minimum South Carolina insurance coverages are as follows:
- $25,000 Bodily Injury Per Person
- $50,000 Bodily Injury Per Accident
- $25,000 Property Damage Per Accident
According to the Georgia Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division, the minimum Georgia insurance coverages are the same.
Determining Fault in Car Accidents
Fault state laws will affect the insurance company’s decision when their private adjuster investigates for fault. Both Georgia and South Carolina are considered fault states, as they do not require personal injury protection (PIP) insurance options.
In fault states, a driver’s insurance company will help their client cover the costs of property damages and injuries. Additionally, state laws governing negligence will also affect fault and how insurance claims are paid out.
George and South Carolina both follow modified comparative negligence laws, which means that drivers may not recover compensation from a settlement if they are more than 50% at-fault of the accident.
Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit
Following an accident, car accident victims can seek damages for the opposing driver’s insurance company to cover those costs. In some instances, settlements to cover those damages may not be reached out-of-court through negotiations with the opposing insurance company – especially if they feel their client is not at fault.
From here, a car accident lawsuit can be filed. Negotiations can continue from here, but if a settlement may not be secured before the case is brought to court.
Complete Your Free Case Review Today With George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers
If you were injured by a fellow driver in a car accident in either Georgia or South Carolina, call George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers or fill out our online form today. When you call us, you can begin a free case review to further explain your accident and any damages you have sustained.
From here, our personal injury attorneys will work to earn fair compensation on your behalf. Your lawyer is prepared to do the following:
- Negotiate with insurance companies
- Inform you of all of your options
- Ensure your rights are protected
- Interview eyewitnesses of the accident
- File all paperwork
- Valuate your damages
- Fight for fair compensation for you
We can help you during this difficult time. You should not have to spend your energy concerning yourself with the often-confusing legal process. You may have serious injuries. You should be able to take the time you need to rest and recover.
Let us worry about phone calls and paperwork. You will not have to speak to any insurance companies. We can also answer any questions you have about what age car insurance goes down.