Posted on: April 10, 2010
South Carolina is one of only two states in the country that doesn’t require drivers to carry auto insurance, the other state being Virginia. Instead, drivers have the option of foregoing insurance by paying a $550 fee to the Department of Safety. Of that fee, $100 goes towards reducing recoupment and enforcing anti-discrimination laws. The rest is for reducing uninsured motorist coverage for other drivers in the state.
As a personal injury lawyer in North Charleston , I think it’s important for people to realize that the average cost for liability auto insurance in South Carolina is $475, much less than the fee people choose to pay. It goes without saying that this amount is way less than a driver would pay if they were involved in a car accident as well. Residents in South Carolina should definitely consider purchasing uninsured motorist insurance, considering other drivers aren’t required to carry insurance themselves.
At this point, about one in every 10 drivers in South Carolina doesn’t carry insurance. Though that number has come down significantly over the last decade. In 2000, the state had a 28 percent uninsured motorist rate, which dropped to 9 percent by 2007, according to this press release . I regularly see the life-changing effects of a serious car accident. Without insurance to protect you, your whole livelihood could be at risk, even if you weren’t to blame for the accident.