South Carolina has some weird laws. Most laws are critical to the proper functioning of society. By curbing dangerous behaviors, laws encourage everyone to act in ways that keep themselves and those around them safe. From mundane laws that establish speed limits to strict laws against drug possession and murder, most laws benefit people.
Whether laws are leftover from another era or are just plain odd, strange ones linger unless someone takes the time and effort to remove them from the legal code.
We Know How To Protect Your Rights And We Are Ready To Fight For You!Give Us A Call »
Frances Willard Day
According to the Frances Willard House Museum and Archives, Frances Willard was a social reformer who led the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) in America and founded the World Woman’s Christian Temperance Union.
She advocated for temperance in alcohol consumption and promoted women’s rights, social justice, and world peace. Although Willard died in 1898, her legacy continues through the WCTU, which is still an active political organization.
While Willard never lived in South Carolina, the state honors her by celebrating Frances Willard Day. According to S.C. Ann. 53-320, the fourth Friday in October is set aside for this special day, and each public school must prepare and render a suitable program on that day to teach children the evils of intemperance.
The Left Lane Is For Passing Only
S.C. Ann. § 56-5-1810 states that drivers must stay in the right-hand lane unless they are overtaking and passing another vehicle; in other words, the left lane is for passing, not cruising. While most people know that from driver’s ed, they may not realize that it is actually against the law in South Carolina to cruise in the left lane.
While it may seem silly to outlaw hanging out in the left lane, it’s not entirely a joke. We’ve all been stuck behind someone cruising slowly in the left lane and know how it can lead to traffic jams and accidents. Keeping the passing lane open for passing and people turning left keeps traffic flowing smoothly. This makes the roads safer for all drivers.
Our Goal Is To Get You The Most Money – FAST!(888) 612-7001
Not Just Anyone Can Ride in the Open Bed of a Pickup Truck
In South Carolina, children aged 15 and under cannot ride in the open bed of a pickup truck – most of the time, that is. S.C. Ann. § 56-5-3900 allows children to ride in an open bed as long as an adult is present, or if:
- The car is not going faster than 36 miles per hour.
- The truck has a closed metal tailgate.
- The driver is in a county that has no incorporated areas with a population greater than 3,500.
Riding in the open bed of a pickup is fine for a hayride or a ride around the block. However, it seems unsafe for any person of any age on a major road or a highway. Age and adult supervision are no replacements for a seatbelt and airbags.
Our Firm Stands Apart From The Rest Because We Make Clients Our Priority.Give Us A Call »
You Need a Permit to Fire a Missile
According to S.C. Ann. § 23-33-20, anyone who wants to fire a missile in South Carolina must first obtain a written permit from the Aeronautics Division of the Department of Commerce. While it does seem wise to prevent the random firing of missiles, one wonders how often this issue comes up.
Violators can be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $100, not more than 30 days in prison, or both.
You Can’t Text, But You Can Stream Media
Texting while driving is dangerous and illegal in South Carolina. S.C. Ann. §56-5-3890 prohibits driving and composing, sending, or reading text messages from a:
- Personal digital assistant
- Text-messaging device
However, this law does not prohibit surfing the web or streaming videos or music. Distracted driving is no joke. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), more than 2,800 people were killed, and roughly 400,000 were injured in accidents caused by distracted driving in 2018 in the United States.
You Could Secure Fair Damages For South Carolina Accident-Related Losses
Your lawyer could help you obtain financial compensation if you were injured or lost a loved one because of another person’s negligence. You could recover an award for the following losses:
- Pain and suffering
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Reduced earning capacity
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Home modifications like a ramp or wider doorways
- Disfigurement or loss of limb
- Your loved one’s funeral and burial expenses
George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers Knows About Weird Laws
If you need legal help, reach out to George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers today. Our lawyers understand all the weird laws in South Carolina, and the not-so-weird ones.
Call (888) 612-7001 for a free consultation. We work on contingency, so you pay nothing unless we win your case.
Not Happy With the Results From Your Current Lawyer?(888) 612-7001