Posted on: September 11, 2011
If you own an ATV in South Carolina, you may experience some changes in safety requirements, according to a news report. The South Carolina legislature voted Tuesday to approve stricter age and safety restrictions on the all-terrain vehicles.
The bill, dubbed “Chandlers law” is being pushed by the family of a South Carolina teenager who died in an ATV accident in 2003, would ban children aged 9 years old and younger from driving an ATV. It would also require mandatory safety course lessons and helmet use by drivers aged 16 years old and younger.
“Since 1982, 128 people have died in ATV related accidents and 35 of those were under the age of 16,” according to news reports.
Forty-four states have ATV safety laws. The majority of ATV accidents occur when the rider isn’t outfitted with protective gear or is riding on unmarked trails. According to the Consumer Product Safety Commission, each year an estimated 450 children are injured in ATV related accidents in South Carolina.
As a North Charleston personal injury lawyer , I’m glad to see the state support safety on ATVs, especially among young drivers. I urge all ATV riders to wear helmets and be a responsible driver.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an ATV accident, contact a personal injury lawyer in North Charleston .