Posted on: June 17, 2011
Soon, South Carolina drivers who text while on the road may have to pay a fine, according to news reports. The South Carolina Senate committee is debating legislation that would make people convicted of texting and driving pay a fine of $45.
On Tuesday, the Senate Judiciary Committee will discuss the measure that will fine texting drivers a $20 fine plus a $25 state trauma care fund surcharge if the person is convicted, according to news reports.
The $45, however, may increase after court and other surcharges are added. Convicted drivers may also lose a driver license point.
The law may be difficult to enforce, however, as police say they will need a clear, unobstructed view of the driver and can’t fine drivers for looking up telephone contacts or dialing their phones. The measure will also not allow officers and excuse to search drivers’ cars.
As a North Charleston personal injury lawyer , I think it’s important for lawmakers to pay attention to the dangers of distracted driving, including texting and driving. I urge drivers, however, to never text and drive or talk on the phone while driving, to avoid car accidents caused by distracted driving.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a distracted driving car accident, contact a personal injury lawyer in North Charleston .