Georgia requires all drivers and other road users involved in car accidents to stop at the scene. They also advise contacting 9-1-1 to report the incident. Other recommendations about what you should do after an accident in Georgia include:
- Providing your contact information and address
- Exchanging vehicle registration numbers with other drivers involved
- Providing your license registration number
If you are in a car accident, you must ensure you take these measures under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270. Failing to do so and fleeing the scene will lead to hit-and-run charges. Still, if you must leave your vehicle at the scene, provide a note indicating all the necessary information.
We Know How To Protect Your Rights And We Are Ready To Fight For You!Give Us A Call »
Penalties for Hit-and-Run Accidents in Georgia
If you flee after an accident in Georgia, you could face a misdemeanor charge as long as there are no fatalities or severe injuries. The fine will range anywhere from $300-$1000, depending on the extent of the damage. You may also face up to 12 months of jail time based on the nature of your case.
While minor hit-and-run accidents do not have significant consequences, those that cause fatalities and severe injuries have more severe consequences under the law. This is because Georgia considers such actions felonies. These penalties can have a sentence of one to five years.
What You Should Do When Involved in a Georgia Hit-and-Run Accident
When you suffer damages in a Georgia hit-and-run accident, you must follow various steps to pursue justice. First, contact the police, notify them of the event, and provide information about the other driver or car. Such details can include:
- Their vehicle’s model
- The car color
- Unique details about the vehicle, such as a bumper sticker
- Condition of their car
- Any notable rust pattern
- The direction they fled
License plate numbers are another detail that can help the police identify a driver after a hit-and-run. This information may also enable us to obtain their address and contact information.
After a hit-and-run accident, it is always best to note any details about the driver or passenger’s appearance. Some information you can include is:
- Hair color
- Body size
- Unique features like a birthmark, tattoo, piercing, or scar
Our Goal Is To Get You The Most Money – FAST!(888) 612-7001
Claiming Damages After a Hit-and-Run Accident
Hit-and-run accidents can leave you with physical injuries and can damage your vehicle. Identifying the party responsible for the crash and filing a claim against them can help you get compensation.
The process of seeking reimbursement after a Georgia hit-and-run accident differs because you may need more time to identify the liable party. Still, the police will investigate the incident using the details you provide. They could then narrow down their suspects based on evidence at the scene and witness’ statements.
Once you identify the driver involved in the car accident and prove they were responsible for the crash, you could claim damages. These include:
- Cost of medical care
- Lost income and wages
- Mental health injuries
- Vehicle repair costs
- Expenses for replacing a totaled car
- Pain and suffering
Our Firm Stands Apart From The Rest Because We Make Clients Our Priority.Give Us A Call »
You Could File a Wrongful Death Claim After Losing a Loved One in a Hit-and-Run
A hit-and-run accident can lead to the death of a loved one who was a passenger or driver in the car. When suing for damages, your personal injury lawyer can claim:
- Funeral and burial expenses
- The medical care your family member received before their passing
- Loss of consortium
- Loss of guidance
- Loss of support and inheritance
Hit-and-Runs Affect Too Many Georgians, But You Could Pursue Damages
According to AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, approximately 727,000 hit-and-run accidents happen in the U.S. each year. Such cases often leave victims with injuries that need immediate medical attention. They also cause vehicle damages that may be costly to repair. If you were recently involved in such a crash, learning about hit-and-run laws in Georgia could benefit you.
This measure will help you determine how to identify the party liable and claim damages. It also allows you to file a lawsuit against the driver at fault.
Reach Out to George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers for Help With a Hit-and-Run Case
Hit-and-run laws in Georgia can help you claim damages from the driver liable. Still, this process may be challenging, especially when recovering from physical injuries. At George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers, our car accident lawyers can help you prove fault and pursue compensation after a hit-and-run accident.
Our attorneys will also assess the value of the damages to ensure you claim fair compensation. They can also represent you in court to sue the liable party. Contact George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers, at (888) 612-7001 for a free case consultation.
Not Happy With the Results From Your Current Lawyer?(888) 612-7001