On May 14 th, the South Carolina Department of Public Safety announced that it is partnering with law enforcement agencies across the state to launch a new campaign aimed at getting more people to buckle up and wear seat belts in South Carolina. The campaign – Buckle Up, South Carolina – is designed to reduce the number of preventable injuries and deaths in auto accidents where drivers and passengers don’t wear seat belts.
Here are a few facts about South Carolina’s seat belt law:
- With a few exceptions, all drivers and passengers in vehicles must wear a fastened safety belt.
- Police officers have the right to pull over vehicles just because someone was not wearing a seat belt.
- Drivers are responsible for ensuring that passengers under the age of 18 (without a license or permit) are wearing seat belts or are properly secured in a child restraint system.
- Anyone who violates South Carolina’s seat belt law can be fined up to $25 per violation, and up to a total of $50 per traffic stop. No points are added to a driver’s license.
George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers wants to remind all South Carolinians to buckle up this summer – both to keep you and your loves ones safe and to avoid a ticket! Law enforcement officers will be on the alert for drivers and passengers who don’t wear their seat belts.
Although wearing a seat belt can lower the risk of getting hurt during a car wreck, unfortunate injuries do happen. When they do, you can count on the South Carolina car accident lawyers at George Sink, P.A. Injury Lawyers to help you recover the compensation you deserve. If you’ve been in a car crash and would like to learn more about your rights, call 888-612-7001 for a FREE consultation.
Not Happy With the Results From Your Current Lawyer?(888) 612-7001